The Government of The Gambia (GOTG) has received financing from the World Bank to implement the Project called Gambia Electricity Restoration and Modernization Project (GERMP); this Project will construct a high voltage 225 kV transmission and distribution line that will start from the Brikama power station to Jabang at the edge of the Salagi Forest Park, where a 225/33 kV substation will be built.

For orientation, the transmission line will start at the edge of the Salagi Forest Park and run along the buffer zone of the Forest up to the Forest billboard at Jamwelleh about 1.8 km off the Sukuta-JambangJelly Highway. From the Forest billboard the line will run toward the border between Mariama Kunda and Jabang, Labakoreh, Yuna and Latrya before turning left, crossing the Sukuta-Jambangjelleh Highway toward the proposed Solar Power Plant in Jambur.

The line will go along the Bamba and Nyambai Forest Parks, crossing the Brikama-Serrekunda Highway to the Brikama power plant.

We want to remind the public that a consultant was hired in 2019/20 to develop the Resettlement Action Plan (RAP) to compensate all those persons whose land and other properties will be affected along this corridor. The Consultant met and interviewed only 71 affected persons out of the 490 identified affected plots of land along the corridor.

Therefore, any person(s) who have properties along the corridor but have never been contacted by NAWEC or any of its Contractors and Consultants should endeavor to contact the Alkalolu of the communities through which the line will pass to ascertain whether his/her property has been affected.

Alternatively, all affected persons should immediately contact NAWEC Project Implementation Unit (PIU) or the SD-Focus Ltd, the Consultant in charge of implementing the Resettlement Action Plan (RAP) in order to be counted for compensation. SD-Focus Ltd can be contacted on telephone 7488510/9204411/3600825/5044127), or at its office at Latriya. Specifically, the persons listed in the Table below have appeared in the RAP report developed in 2019/20, but have not been reported to SD-Focus Ltd for verification.

In addition, anyone who believes that he/she should have been included in the socio-economic census but was not included is also urged to contact the project’s Grievance Redress Committee (GRC) through one of the contacts listed below.

This is important because when the construction of the line commences, any impacted land and properties along the identified corridor will be demolished, and where the respective owners are not known, no compensation can obviously be made.

If you have questions or concerns about this, please contact the project’s GRC. You can also visit the PMU office, which is located at Emporium Complex, 114 Kairaba Avenue, Kanifing Municipality, The Gambia.

For further information, contact the GERMP Project Management Unit:


List of persons who were identified in 2019/20 to be affected by the transmission line but have not yet reported to SD-Focus Ltd to register profiles



Farato Bojang Kunda Locality
  Ibrahima Cessay      
  Saloum Darbo      
  Saloum Darbo      
  Mariama Manneh      
  Edrissa Bodian      
  Sainey Jammeh      
  Sanneh Counda Family      
Jambur Locality
  Borry Toureh      
  Suleymane Bah      
  Kebba Saloum Manka      
  Modou Sankaré      
  Moustapha Sowe      
  Bory Jammeh      
  Alhagg Abdullahi Camara      
  Muhammed Chaloube      
  Lamin MA Bojang      
  Sankung Bojang      
  Fatou Bojang      
  Saidou Ceesay      
  Sankum Bojang      
  Madi Ceesay      
  Emmanuel Mendy      
  Haruna Bojang      
  Unknown Diawoune      
  Unknown Daouda      
  Unknown Bah      
  Bodiang Bodiang      
  Ousmane Si      
  Basiru Jarju      
  Emmanuel Mendy      
  Suleymane Bah      
  Khadiatou Tall      
  Kebba M Bojang      
  Mamadou Sala      
  Musa Ann      
  Baboucar Diedhiou      
  Bakary Jawneh      
  Modou c/o Danso      
Latriya locality
  Toureh Yancouba      
  Gassama Samboudjan      
  Silva Bintou      
  Gomez John      
  Bayo Bubacarr      
  Bayo Bubacarr      
  Bayo Bubacarr      
  Sylla Moustapha      
  Jallow Mamadu      
  Ndiaye Ebrama      
  Ndiaye Ibou      
Jabang Locality
  Mustafa Jatta      
  Mamadou Sanneh      
  Lang Tombon Tamba      
  Diop Diop      
  Ibrahima Coly      
  Djibril Sane      
  Fatou Saho      
  Mamie Jallow      
  Alieu Lowe